~/Simon's Blog ❯

Low-Spec Android Phone Modding

If you are here for installation instructions, skip to the bottom of the page.

I have had interesting Android experiences in the past, but I don't think any come close to the experience I had modding a Motorola Moto C Plus.

The "guide" (if you want to call it that) for installing TWRP is a little bit cluttered and hard to read, AND is very prone to failing despite many users having succeeded in using this method. Just for the error I was getting alone there was a good amount of users asking for help with either no reply, or useless ones.

Another user in the comments however pointed out that you could use Mtk-Su, an utility to temporarily gain Root Access, to "flash" TWRP and install a Custom ROM from there. And it works.

So, after failing with the "intended" route, I went for this one instead and was surprised to see how easy it was. Download an app, press a button, use dd to flash TWRP, and I was done. From there I simply flashed ViperOS based on Android 7 and my device was pretty much ready to go

However, due to Motorola, this device is running 32-bit Android and a 32-bit Kernel, and sadly nobody stepped up and built 64-bit Android+Linux like how it happened with devices like the Moto G5s. Though, it worked really well overall, and if you have a device lying around I would say that it's a neat thing to try ;)


Installation Instructions

Requirements:

Disclaimer: You are proceeding at your own risk, and I do not take responsibility if your device breaks in any way, shape, or form. ALL DATA WILL BE ERASED DURING THIS PROCEDURE!!!
This guide uses Mtk-Su. Mtk-Su is a utility which allows you to gain root access temporarily. You can either run it in a Terminal, or use Mtk-Easy-Su if you want to do this with a GUI. I will be covering the use of Mtk-Easy-Su for this procedure.

Step 1: Rooting the device using Mtk-Su

  1. Download the Mtk-Easy-Su application from GitHub
  2. Install and open the application
  3. Press the "#" button in the bottom right to gain Root Access.
  4. Open Magisk Manager and update it. (it will have the default Android icon)

Step 2: Backing up your original Recovery

  1. Open your Terminal-Emulator
  2. type su and hit enter
  3. run the following command:
    dd if=/dev/block/platform/mtk-msdc.0/11230000.msdc0/by-name/recovery of=/sdcard/recovery.img
    
  4. You now have a backup of your recovery.img in your internal storage. Make sure to store it somewhere safe.

Step 3: Flashing TWRP

  1. Open your Terminal-Emulator
  2. type su and hit enter.
  3. run the following command with your TWRP image (I have my .img at /sdcard/Download/TWRP.img)
    dd if=/sdcard/Download/TWRP.img of=/dev/block/platform/mtk-msdc.0/11230000.msdc0/by-name/recovery
    

Step 4: Flashing a Custom ROM

As I said before, I have not tested the Stock ROM, so please do not report issues with it.

  1. Power off your device
  2. Hold the Power and Volume + buttons
  3. Select "Recovery Mode" using the Volume + key, and confirm using the Volume - key.
  4. TWRP Will now boot
  5. Select "Wipe" > "Format Data" > Type "Yes" and hit Enter.
  6. Select Flash, navigate to your Custom ROM, and flash it as usual.

Step 5: Reboot and Enjoy

Your custom ROM should now boot, Enjoy! If you have any issues, contact me here


Thanks for reading! This was a VERY short one in terms of me actually talking, but I think the Instructions make up for it.

I wish you a good rest of the day, evening, night, or whatever other time you're reading this!

#android #modding #motorola #smartphones